Turn to a Trusted Dallas Violent Crime Attorney
Domestic violence is an unfortunately real problem in our society, and Texas law treats these offenses extremely seriously. In addition to the immense penalties, those who are accused of domestic violence are often shunned or shamed in society, even before the trial has begun and often times after the verdict has cleared them of wrongdoing. While the seriousness with which these cases are handled is a blessing for victims, it’s unfortunate that it also leads to a large number of false accusations levied with the intent of smearing someone’s reputation or ruining lives.
If you find yourself facing accusations of domestic violence against family members, it’s extremely important that you don’t hesitate to contact a Dallas violent crime lawyer who knows how to handle cases that are extremely sensitive in nature like this. Attorney Nelson Knight has successfully defended clients against a wide variety of criminal accusations, including violent crime charges, and knows what it takes to handle difficult matters like domestic violence. Our team is committed to helping you navigate your case with confidence, and we work with you to position yourself for success, including thorough preparation which is extremely important in cases where so much is at stake.
Don’t face your charges alone; put a powerful ally on your side by calling Nelson Knight of Knight Law Office at (214) 712-2280 today and requesting a free initial case evaluation.
Domestic Assault Charges in Texas
Domestic assault is the crime of committing assault against a family member, household member, or dating partner (either current or past). Domestic assault is considered a Class A misdemeanor, the highest level of “simple” assault defined in Texas Penal Code section 22.01. However, repeat offenders may face third degree felony charges for subsequent convictions.
Domestic violence convictions carry the following penalties in Texas:
- Class A misdemeanor: Up to one year in jail plus fines of up to $4,000
- Third degree felony: Between two and ten years in prison, plus a fine of up to $10,000
- Second degree felony: Between two and 20 years in prison, plus a fine of up to $10,000
- First degree felony: Between five and 99 years in prison, plus a fine of up to $10,000
As stated previously, simple domestic assault charges (charges without any aggravating factors present) are considered a Class A misdemeanor. However, aggravated domestic assault could lead to the charges being escalated to felony status and carry multiple years in prison. Aggravated domestic assault includes assault with a deadly weapon, or instances in which someone causes severe bodily injury including broken bones or other maladies that require hospitalization. It’s extremely likely that even first-time offenders in these cases will face incarceration, which means you need an attorney who can help you fight back as soon as possible.
In addition to the penalties listed above, those who are convicted are often required to pay restitution, or reimbursement for victims of the crime. This often includes the cost of medical care, counseling, and to repair or replace any damaged property as a result of their actions.
Let us fight for you! Contact Attorney Nelson Knight online now and start building your hard-hitting defense.