Simple Assault Charges in Dallas
Contact a Dallas Violent Crime Lawyer Today!
Violent crime charges are some of the most heavily penalized offenses under Texas law. One of the most common violent crime offenses is that of assault. Simple assault is how the law defines assault without the presence of any aggravating factors, or circumstances which upgrade the offense to a more serious level. However, with that being said, simple assault is not something that should be taken lightly—a conviction could have consequences that affect you for the rest of your life. That means you should reach out to a skilled Dallas violent crimes attorney for representation and guidance as soon as possible!
Attorney Nelson Knight has considerable experience helping clients navigate the difficulties of a violent crime accusation, and his experience as a former prosecutor gives him a unique edge in fighting for your best interests. He understands how prosecutors approach cases and the strategies they employ in pursuit of a conviction, and this allows him to create an effective defense that aggressively pursues the best possible outcome. We understand the urgency you require when you’ve been arrested, and we respond quickly, guiding you and fighting for you through every step of your case so you can face your prosecution with confidence.
Call Attorney Nelson Knight at Knight Law Office at (214) 712-2280 and receive a free initial consultation if you’re facing simple assault charges.
What Is Simple Assault?
Assault is defined in Texas Penal Code section 22.01, and states that the offense is three possible things: “intentionally, knowingly or recklessly” causing bodily injury to another person, threatening another person with imminent bodily harm, or deliberately causing contact with another person that you know they will find offensive or provocative. In the case any injuries occur, the injuries must be nothing more than minor cuts, scrapes, or bruises. If the assault victim’s injuries are any worse than this, or the victim is hospitalized for their injuries, you’ll most likely be charged with aggravated assault, the elevated level of this offense.
Simple assault is generally considered to be a misdemeanor, but which level of misdemeanor varies depending on the nature of the offense. Class C misdemeanor assault involves nothing more than threatening or touching with no injuries, however the offense increases to Class B misdemeanor charges if the threat is against a sports official or referee. Class A misdemeanor offenses are usually charged with injuries occur.
The penalties for simple assault are as follows:
- Class A misdemeanor: Up to a year in jail and up to $4,000 in fines
- Class B misdemeanor: Up to 180 days in jail and up to $2,000 in fines
- Class C misdemeanor: Up to $500 in fines
With that being said, having a misdemeanor assault charge on your criminal history carries substantial additional consequences that lie outside the criminal justice system. Employers often hesitate to hire those who have assault convictions on their record because they often don’t trust people who have shown they have lost control of their behavior in the past. In fact, some people are prohibited from working in certain professions with this offense on their record.
Don’t leave your case up to chance; contact Attorney Nelson Knight now to start discussing your defense strategy!